Explore SLNT Sites Islandwise
Pigeon Island National Landmark
Open Days and Hours:
- Open Days: Monday – Sunday (At the moment, our Interpretation Centre is closed on weekends and public holidays)
- Open Hours: 9:30am – 5:00pm. Last entry 4:15pm.
- Park Closure: Closed only on Christmas Day, December 25th. The park may also be closed for renovations and other reasons. We will update if there are any temporary park closures on our Facebook and Instagram so please check them out.
Entrance fees and other services:
- Adult (13 years and older): US$10
- Child(5-12 years old): US$3
- Toddler(Under 5 years old): Free
- Guided Tour (Group of 1-10 guests): US$20
- Beach Loungers/Deck Chairs: US$3 / chair
- Umbrellas: US$3 / umbrella
- A Brief History and Guidebook: US$5
- Adult (13 years and older): EC$10
- Child(5-12 years old): EC$4
- Toddler(Under 5 years old): Free
UNESCO has recognised, national heritage must always remain affordable and accessible to locals & permanent residents, thus our Resident Entrance Fees are at concessionary rates. Please present your ID for these concessionary rates.
Please note that prices are inclusive of HCSL & VAT and are subject to change without notice.
Recognising the need to secure this site where the balance of late eighteenth century naval power was decided, the Government of Saint Lucia designated Pigeon Island as a National Park in 1979 and as a National Landmark in 1992. Pigeon Island National Landmark has a number of heritage attractions and amenities which include:
- Ruins of military buildings used during the battles between the French and the British for the island of Saint Lucia.
- Two beautiful swimming beaches and another beautiful paddling beach where many turtles nest.
- A restaurant featuring local cuisine.
- A lookout point at the top of Fort Rodney which gives a panoramic view of the Northwest coastline.
Amerindians & Pirates
Pigeon Island was first occupied by the Amerindians, mainly Caribs. The island was later occupied by pirates whose leader was a Norman Captain called Francois Le Clerc. He had a wooden leg and was known to the French as “Jambe de Bois”.
Battle of the Saintes
The French who owned the island in 1778 and called it “Gros Islet”, declared war on the British, who retaliated by attacking them in Saint Lucia and capturing the island. The British then built a Naval Base at Gros-Islet Bay, heavily fortifying Pigeon Island. From there they were able to monitor the French fleet in Martinique which resulted in the defeat of the French at the Battle of the Saintes in 1782. Pigeon Island was therefore a key factor in the battles between the British and the French.
Whaling, Miss Josset & Americans in WWII
In 1909 a whaling station was established at Pigeon Island. Legislation to control whaling in 1952 put an end to this operation. Pigeon Island was leased to Josset Agnes Hutchinson, an actress with the D’Oyle Carte Theatre of England in 1937. When the American established a Naval Base at Rodney Bay in 1940 she left the island. In 1947 she returned to establish a thriving yachting industry, entertaining many guests and giving the island the reputation of a paradise island. She relinquished the lease in 1970, finally retiring to England in 1976.
Pigeon Island Today
The 44-acre Pigeon Island was joined to the mainland in 1973 and restored by the National Trust as a national landmark encompassing all aspects of its rich heritage, with emphasis on the colonial period of the late eighteenth century, when the spill-over from the American War of Independence reached the Caribbean.
Pigeon Island National Landmark combines several periods of history, beautiful tiny beaches large green lawns and shady groves, is home to a variety of tropical flora and fauna, and breathtaking views of Saint Lucia and neighbouring Martinique . 11 miles from the capital city of Castries and a short trip from Rodney Bay, Cap Estate and Gros Islet, it is perfect for a half or full day outing.